Winx Crowned NSW Horse Of The Year

Friday, 18th August 2017

Predictably, Champion mare Winx dominated proceedings at last night's annual 'Racing's Night Of Champions' awards ceremony in the Royal Randwick Ballroom of the Australian Turf Club in Sydney. Champion trainer Chris Waller's two wins made it seven straight in both the Champion Trainer category and the Bart Cummings Medal. The category winners were:

  • NSW Horse of the Year: Winx
  • Australian Turf Club NSW 2YO of the Year: She Will Reign
  • International Animal Health Products NSW 3YO of the Year: Global Glamour
  • Australian Turf Club NSW Sprinter of the Year: Tycoon Tara
  • Whitby Bloodstock NSW Miler of the Year: Winx
  • NZB NSW Middle Distance Horse of the Year: Winx
  • Emirates NSW Stayer of the Year: Big Duke
  • Inglis Queen of the Autumn: Zanbagh
  • Sky Thoroughbred Central NSW Country Champion Horse of the Year: Single Gaze
  • Sky Thoroughbred Central NSW Provincial Champion Horse of the Year: Le Romain
  • Bart Cummings Medal: Chris Waller
  • T J Smith Champion Trainer: Chris Waller
  • George Moore Champion Jockey: Hugh Bowman
  • Theo Green Champion Apprentice: Andrew Adkins
  • Sydney Strapper of the Year: Riharna Thomson (posthumous)
  • BOBS Horse(s) of the Year: Memes & Zumbelina
  • Industry Recognition Waward: Chautauqua

Bowman and Waller
Winx strike force Hugh Bowman and Chris Waller (pic: Steve Hart)